I’m a big fan of PB&J! My prefered version is whole wheat bread, strawberry jelly, and smooth peanut butter. And for me no PB&J is complete without Cheetos. I don’t know why, but I’m never satisfied without having the Cheetos with my sandwich.

Okay, so PB&J isn’t that original, and everyone likes their’s a little bit differently… but have you ever had problems with getting jelly in your peanut butter? I know, I know you can wipe the knife off on the bread to get the jelly off. But usually there’s a little left over. Jelly has to be refrigerated, so how gross is it when there’s jelly in your peanut butter the next time you use it.

I stole an idea from my Grandma via my Gramps. (Grandma passed away many years ago….. but My Gramps still talks about her and the things she used to do).

I was visiting my Gramps in New Jersey several years ago, making a snack PB&J. He saw me about to stick the knife into the jelly, BEFORE THE PEANUT BUTTER! He stopped me. The conversation went something like this.

G: YOu shouldn’t do that/

Me: Why not?

G: The jelly’s going to get into the peanut butter.

Me: What’s wrong with that?

G: Your Grandmother always put the peanut butter on first, then the jelly.

Me: Hmmm.

I sort of worked the logic of it out for myself. It’s funny the things that stick with you. For my Gramps it seems everything that Grandma did stuck with him. And this idea stuck with me, I think of her nearly every time I make a PB&J. For the last 2 months I’ve had a PB&J every afternoon for lunch.

Thanks for the steal Grandma!

