MilSpouse Friday Fill-In

  1. What secret indulgence do you act on while your spouse is away? (from Devil Dog Darling)

I have 2 sweets/junk food and junky tv. I love all of the junky shows on Bravo! My husband can’t stand them, so when he’s on his weird hours I catch up on all of my favorite shows. Also, for some reason I don’t like to eat my sweets when he’s around. So I do when he’s gone.

  1. If you were a spice, what would you be? (from New Girl On Post)

Garlic. I’m sassy and have a little kick. (also I eat a ton of garlic!)

  1. Where do you go for support when your significant other is deployed? (from Texas Meets Washington)

We haven’t had to go through a deployment yet, we’ve only been in for 2 years and it’s all been in school. But I have some really great friends and my mom is a retired Navy wife with 28 years of experience.  She was a great role model when I was growing up and she’s an even better one now that I’m walking in her tiny shoes.

  1. What is the oldest thing you own? (from A Troop’s Girl)

It’s a tie between my dinning room table and our rocking chair. They are both 30 years old and belonged to  my parents. When we moved both were “gifted” to us. I love the rocker, the table I could do without (it’s just not  my style). But hey it was free. So I’ll make do until we can afford something else, something less round.

  1. How did you vision your future pre-military? (from Daddy’s Duty)

It was going to be pretty similar. My husband was a chef before joining the Navy. He worked at a 5 star restraunt 10 hour days 6 days a week, making $10/hr. So we were broke and hardly ever saw each other. We’re actually better off now. I was looking at having my kids in day care while I continued teaching special ed. Now I can stay home and raise them myself. It’s such a blessing.

